Good Friday morning all. I have no doubt in my mind that you are all looking forward to the weekend. I can't blame you!
Yesterday after my last post I plucked my eye brows as best I could (lighting and getting close to a mirror made that a bit challenging) I managed to get all the stragglers so that was good enough. Then I got my shower (yes I did shave my legs!!) and got all squeeky clean for our dinner with a friend Gary at his house. I had the iPod plugged in and the volume cranked up. I was singing and dancing around the house prior to my shower even. I was tired, but in a great mood and looking forward to seeing Gary and catching up. After my shower the "primping" began. First brush my teeth then moisturize my face. Next deoderant (before my hands get too slippery to get the cap off) and then a heavy duty lotion for my dry, dry, dry skin. I had already laid my clothes out on the bed prior to my shower so they got a quick spritz with my perfume and then so did I.
I headed into the living room to let the puppies out and replay a song on the iPod. The Zac Brown Band is one of my favorites right now. You just cannot listen to "Where The Boat Leaves From" without wanting to bob your head at the very least! I sing along and since I was home alone even danced around the house. Which made me think about dancing with Lillie and that made me even happier which lead to louder singing and worse dancing! LOL.
So, back to the back and start layering on clothes. I already had my "foundation" but it was time to add real clothing. First my pants, wow, maternity pants can be a real challenge to get that belly panel just right sometimes. Then my camisole that Mom bought me, I truly do love that thing just feels good on your body. But for some reason yesterday it kept rolling up underneath my boobs, yay! Once I had most of my clothes on (still singing to Zac Brown) I blow dry my hair. This process is basically the same as any other time I blow dry my hair. Round brush all over. Since my hair is a bit thicker from being pregnant my hair is much more cooperative and allows me to blow it and go.
Then I started with what make-up I intended to wear. Now, the fact that I wore any is a big deal because I can't really remember the last time I had on make-up.... but my make-up wearing is liken to alot of peoples not wearing make-up. I don't wear foundation or blush or powder. I go light on the eye make-up and now (I haven't always) go light on the lip coverage as well. Anyway, I just about have my eye shadow done (again, remember that its minimal) and I take my brush to lighten it and fade it out.... it seems, though my memory could be wrong, that someone has used my brush for a dark grey (this brush is only used to lighten the color, not add color). Ugh! So now I look like a racoon. I have to start all over with that now. First I clean my brush out. Then I wipe my eyes completely clean and then I have to give myself a minute because my lids are a little puffy from wiping them... I already have fat little eye lids, any friction makes that worse.
Ok, so reapply the eye make-up, which based on quantity isn't a big deal... but there's a certain finess to working my eye lids (remember they are fat). See why I don't wear make-up?! Ok, that's done, looks good, leave it alone. I give them a soft, thin, minimal amount of liner on the outside of the top lid (helps my eyes look more open) and then a bit of mascara. Brush my eyebrows just to check their shape. Eyes done! I know, sounds like alot of make-up already, but it isn't.... just the process. I have on some chap stick so I add just a tint of color to that with my lip liner, smooth that in with my finger tip and I am DONE! Yay!
I put on the shirt I am going to wear and take a picture to send to Tancy just cause I can. She always fusses that she doesn't have enough pics of me. She calls before long and is on her way home. She's just going to throw on a sweat shirt and we'll be out the door. I grab said sweat shirt and lay it out for her. She's home before long and within 5 - 10 minutes we are out the door. She tells me how pretty I look. She's exhausted but we just can't cancel again... we've all been looking forward to this for a while now and we've all had to reschedule for one reason or another.
We get to Gary's at 7:45. Yup, that's what time we got to his house (he lives about 45 minutes away from us). We meet his roommate and a friend of his. Both very nice guys. Dinner is ready, so they begin to set the table... fine china, silverware and stemware. Wow! I feel special and awkward all at the same time. I am a paperplate and dixie cup kinda girl. But, this is how Ross (Gary's roommate) does things, so we'll roll with it. We have great dinner conversation. Very interesting subject matter and incredibly entertaining. I don't think we had any trouble coming up with something to talk about, very easy and comfortable. Even after dinner we sat at the table and talked and laughed. Then we had dessert (which we were served) and it was delicious. A hot chocolate chip cookie over vanilla ice cream. Wow. I'd had way too much to eat. We sat at the table for quite a while longer, still chatting, catching up and getting to know each other. I really enjoyed it.
However, I knew that Tancy was exhausted... I was too... but she's the one who has to actually work during the day. So we start making our apologies about having to leave. They ask what time she's got to get up, they all cringe at the time she names. I think we both could stay and visit a while longer, but I keep pushing (since she keeps starting additional conversation) for us to head home. We do finally get up from the table and say our thanks, dinner was great, had a wonderful time, so nice to meet you. We hug the fellas and head out the door.
It is 10:15 when we get in the car. It will be 11:00 before we get home. I am exhausted. I am having trouble with that dry feeling in my nasal passage and back of my throat. And the least lady like thing, my tummy is full of gas... nothing is moving, but it hurts. Tancy settles back into the passenger seat and dozes. I try to keep the radio down and not sling her around too much so she can sleep some on the way home. She manages to keep her eyes closed, if not sleep, most of the way home. We both drag in the house at 11:00. I decide to put some vaseline in my nose to try to help with that dry cracked and irritated feeling... q-tips work well for this but tickle if you don't apply enough pressure. As soon as we can get changed into pajamas we are in bed. I don't think either of us were awake when our heads hit our pillows.
The alarm went off 5 minutes later... I swear. It sure felt like it anyway. She got up and started getting ready. I got up and made coffee and also made her a sandwich for lunch. I was so sleepy that the cold shivers set in... it isn't that cold in the house, I was just that tired. Got the puppies taken care of and fed. She made it into the living room and we both want to bathe in our coffee. I am exhausted. I know she has to be. I am already contemplating going back to bed and feeling guilty for the thought because she can't go back to bed. I decided to try (notice that key word there) not to go back to bed.... so I start to blog... but I gotta tell ya its getting harder just to keep my eyeballs in the front of my face! They keep wanting to roll back up in my head. My hands and feet are swollen this morning. I am going to attribute that to two things, not enough water yesterday - must correct today, and not nearly enough sleep - which I am probably about to correct in just a few minutes. My feet kinda hurt, its that kind of swelling.
All I have to do today is get some groceries... so I think I AM going to lay back down. I hope you all have a great Friday morning. I'll check back in later.
Love to all!
Recent Comments