April 21, 2009

  • Catching up from the last

    Good morning all. I hope this finds you all doing well.

    So Sunday I didn't do anything. Well, I managed to get the dishes done and some laundry as well. I don't know what my problem was. I had every intention of getting things done around the house... but I just couldn't find the motivation to actually do anything. So I sat on the couch, surfed the web, listened to the radio or watched TV. I talked to Mom on the phone and Missy on the computer. I wasn't depressed or anything, just never managed to drag myself off the couch to get anything done. That did kinda bum me out a bit to be honest.

    When Tancy got home we ordered pizza and vegged together. She was exhausted and I still just felt like a blob. We enjoyed our night together though. I am always happy when she's home and we have time to spend. I don't think we were up very late... probably asleep by 10:00. We've both been pretty tired lately.

    Monday morning we planned to sleep in... but I was up before 8:00. I made the coffee, took care of the puppies, my normal routine. I did it all somewhat begrudgingly I'll admit. This was my one day off too and I wanted a break from my usual morning responsibilities. But, she needed sleep and I was up first (cause the dogs were pacing the floor... if I had continued to lay there I would have just been more pissed off). She was up shortly behind me. I did my best not to be an asshole. In case ya'll haven't picked up on it, mornings are NOT when I am at my very best. In fact, mornings are probably when I have the highest chance of being a complete asshole without even thinkg about it or realizing it. I keep my communication to nods, one word answers and grunts until I can behave like a human being.

    Soon it was time to get ready to take the car in to get the tires rotated. We got moving. It didn't take long to get that done and then we went to see about Tancy getting a hair cut. She was really unhappy with the way her hair was looking. We managed to find someone who was open and would cut it for her. A while later we were out of there with a new hair product as well. Home James and then left over pizza for lunch. After that we did a water change in the aquarium and then chilled out.

    Sandy called at about 1:30, she wanted to ride out for a bit. We told her come on, but that we had class and had to leave at 6:00. Tancy swept the floors. Sandy got here right at 3:00 and was hungry. We went to Taco & Tequila, our local favorite (though our true favorite is El Paso). She had lunch, Tancy at chips and salsa, I got an order of sopapilla's. Yum. We left there and she wanted to go to Goodwill to get some pants, so I drove us over there. She got some britches and then told me she wanted to go to Big Lots. When did this become Jodie's Senior Transportation Service?! LMAO! I am just kidding of course, but Sandy just has that way about her... and she's not really a senior. By the time we got back to the house we didn't have long to visit before we had to leave, but we took advantage of every minute. Tancy's Mom called just as we needed to be leaving. Sandy was waiting for her to get off the phone to tell her bye. Got all that wrapped up and we left out.

    We didn't get to the hospital as early as I had wanted (got hung up with the phone and telling Sandy bye, then Tancy had to pee and get a sweat shirt... lol). Most everyone was already there. I don't like walking into a full classroom. Oh well. We weren't late, we just weren't early. So we started out with an introduction to our teacher who is a labor and delivery nurse (3 years in this field, 12 years as a nurse). We immediately liked her. Then we all had to introduce ourselves. We were, not surprising, the only lesbians in the class. I am pretty sure we were the least uptight too. LOL. There was one older couple. I'd guess the wife was at least Tancy's age and the husband was older. There was one odd couple. The guy (cause I don't think they are married and didn't introduce as husband and wife) was in his late 50's if I had to guess. The chick was probably somewhere between me and Tancy in age. It wasn't just their age that made them odd, their interaction was strange as well. They were definitely together... but if I had to guess he wasn't happy about her being pregnant or being there. Anyway, there was a woman, close to my age, due the same day as me, with a little girl who was joined by her Mom (her husband will attend the remaining classes). There was a couple, probably my age maybe a bit younger, he was very supportive (the only guy in there who gave off the supportive partner vibe). There was a young hispanic couple (whom I think the teacher offended when she spoke of Mexico). There was a younger couple, mid 20's maybe late 20's... the wife is 6'3", the husband might not even break 6'... awkward but very nice. Then the really young couple that came in late (I don't even know if the girl was 20). They didn't introduce themselves like the rest of us because they came in after we had done that exercise.

    The next exercise was a "get to know each other" kind of thing where we all had a piece of paper with descriptions: has blue eyes, speaks another language, is having a girl, etc. And you had to talk to the other people in the class and write a name by 5 horizontally or vertically. The winner got a prize. I don't like games like that. We didn't win. Shocker! LOL.

    The "partners" had an exercise
    where they had to act out a pregnancy symptom that we (their preggo's)
    had more than likely experienced. That was entertaining. Especially to
    watch the men pull a card and whince at what he'd just read. Amy, our
    teacher was very kind to them, allowing them to pull another card. She
    then went over the other cards that no one picked or the ones that no
    one wanted to do. We talked about who had had what symptoms and any
    additional problems we might have had.


    We watched a birth video. Nothing shocking there either. After that it was terminology, possible signs of labor, warning signs and things that you should call your doctor (while in route to the hospital) immediately should you experience. Didn't tell us much we didn't already know there. We did win a prize there for knowing the terminology. She told us, if she could give us one piece of helpful advice it would be to stay at home as long as possible. That once you get to the hospital they begin interveining and doing it "your way" becomes less likely and less possible. Plus the beginning stages of labor are long and going to the hospital will probably just result in a trip home to wait it out. Again, not much we didn't know there.

    Once the classroom type stuff was done we moved into the other room and all the moms-to-be got yoga balls to sit on. She showed us how sitting on that and rocking side to side would help with the early stages of labor... even through the duration of labor should we opt to not have an epidural. That's the first relief I've had from my sciatic issues in I don't know how long. I will be using my yoga ball at home, I can tell you that... not just for labor, for watching TV even!! That one thing made the entire class worth it.

    Class wrapped up about 30 minutes early. We were all pretty thankful. Even though you know most of what they tell you it still seems like alot to take in. I think she felt like she had left something out, finishing class so early, but everyone was pretty thankful I think. We got a few minutes to talk to her during class, she likes our favorite doctor (apparently she's one of the hospital favorites). I asked her about how high Lillie is and at what point is that concerning. She said if my water breaks and the baby is still high, then that would be a cause for concern because the umbilical cord could prolapse (come out first) and that would be an emergent situation. But she could not drop right up until labor kicks off and it wouldn't be a concern. I wasn't worried about it, but I was glad to hear that it really doesn't mean much of anything (except that I can't breathe!) that she's up so high.

    At this point, our ideal birth situation would be our teacher as our nurse and our favorite doctor delivering. Everyone put that out there for us.

    I am not worried about much of anything. That was another exercise, left over for the next class. We had to write down our biggest fear. I don't really have any, so I wrote "What I can't prepare for, complications". My hopes (outside of who provides care during labor and delivery) are just to manage early labor at home for as long as I can and is safe. Not to get to the hospital too early, or too late. And to have a relatively quick delivery. I do hope to deliver vaginally, but wont be devastated if I require a C-section... as long as it all results in a healthy baby, that is all that matters. I hope to put off an epidural for as long as I can since having one early can slow labor, but not so late that I miss my window.

    Anyway, class broke up at 9:00, we picked up a quick bite. I was starving. Then we headed home. We folded a few clothes (I did finish the laundry yesterday) and put them away and then crawled into bed. We were both spent and were asleep quickly.

    We swapped sides of the bed so that the body pillow was on the outside instead of between us and Tancy snuggled up to me. That was nice. I don't know the last time we snuggled up like that to fall asleep. I need to lay on my left side, so it's usually not really gonna happen. It was also the first night in a while that I slept through the night. I didn't wake up to go to the bathroom. Scout woke me up twice "diggin" in their bed. But I managed to fall back to sleep. I woke up at 4:00 and had to pee, but slept till 4:30 and then got up. I got back in bed, 15 minutes till the alarm goes off and dozed again. Tancy had me hit the snooze button and I dozed again till it went off. Tancy got up and so did I.

    She had set the coffee pot for me the night before, so that was one thing down. Pups, coffee, try to wake up. She leaves for work, I start blog. Right now I am thinking about going back to bed. I can hardly keep my eyes open at this moment. The puppies are sleeping, so they wouldn't mind. All I have going on today is my last pregnancy massage at 2:00. I think I might go back to bed for a bit...

    I hope ya'll have a great day!

    Love to all!