May 23, 2009

  • My list of accomplishments thus far... pretty proud

    Wow, I have been a busy little bee since about 7:00. I got dressed and started putting everything where it goes, you know, the dishes, the remotes, the phones, the mail, the trash, the shoes... I could go on and on, there was lots out of place, but you get the idea.

    Once I got the top layer straightened up I started to dig in a bit. I decided that the globes on the lights needed to be washed. But first I needed to do some dishes. So I unloaded the last load, reloaded with dirty dishes and set it to run. While that was going I set about taking down all the globes that could be washed in the dishwasher. Once I had collected them all I went back and wiped down all the light fixtures that couldn't be removed to be washed (lamp shades, bare bulbs in the bathroom, globes off the coal oil lamps, I even sucked a mess of dead moths of out the tall floor lamp in the living room - yuck!). That was a task, but I am using the dry cloths for the swiffer (that we never use) and boy do they work well!! I also wiped down the light fixture above the kitchen table and cleaned the fan blades in the living room and our bedroom. By the time I got done cleaning all the lights the dishwasher was done. I unloaded it and put those dishes away and loaded it up with the globes and turned it on.

    Time to move on to the next project. I wanted to get the pantry straightened up and there was puppy stuff in the white chest by the back door I wanted to find a new home for. So as I went I gathered up the stuff that Tancy needs to take out to the shed, I emptied the chest and took all the puppy stuff into the pantry. I sat myself down on the floor in the pantry and set about organizing all the puppy stuff. Gnaw-gnaw's are in a small tote on the bottom shelf. All their medicine is in a tin next to that. Their heart worm and flea & tick medicine is in a ziploc with their names and birth dates on it. All the "treats" are in the cookie jar for them... we will be using those soon. Also I managed to rearrange the stuff under the bottom shelf to accomidate a bigger tote and transferred their food from the smaller one that barely holds a bag to the bigger tote that will hold a whole bag, their scoops and bowls. Yay me! I also reworked some stuff to just look tidier in general. I moved the picture box from the living room into the pantry for now. It's just taking up space and we don't have the time to work on that right now. I also took the tall trash can in there and put it in the hall bath's tub with some bleach and hot water... I am going to use it in Lillie's room and it was FUNKY!

    Now its time to start on the kitchen, I'll keep it as brief as possible because there's ALOT!
    Wiped down the tops of the cabinets
    Dusted the nick knacks that sit on the tops of the cabinets
    Wiped down the inside shelves of the top cabinets
    Wiped down the cabinet doors
    Removed any items in cabinets that didn't belong
    Put said items where they did belong
    (This completes the top cabinets)
    Wiped out drawers
    Added non-slide stuff  to the drawers
    Rearranged drawers
    Wiped out bottom cabinets shelves
    Wiped bottom cabinets doors
    Reorganized bottom cabinets
    (This completes all the cabinets and drawers)
    Wiped off the counter tops
    Cleaned everything that sits on the counter tops
    Cleaned the underneath of the top cabinets (Surprisingly nasty)
    Cleaned microwave (inside and out)
    Cleaned the oven
    Wiped down dishwasher
    Wiped down top and outside of the refridgerator
    Cleaned out fridge (removed old food) - still need to wipe down the inside
    Cleaned the stove
    Set coffee pot for in the morning - Figuring I will be moving slow
    Wiped down baseboards in the kitchen
    Swept the kitchen floor
    Dusted kitchen table & chairs
    Dusted corner hutch
    Cleaned kitchen window
    Cleaned doors off the dining area that lead out onto the deck

    In the process of all the work in the kitchen I managed to have a tomato sandwich for lunch, and the remainder of the tomato itself. I also put all the sparkling clean globes back where they came from. Then I loaded the few dishes from my lunch in the dishwasher.

    That completes what I have accomplished so far. My break time is over... I am on to clean the hall bath... I am presently pretty happy that its a small bathroom! LOL.

    Hope everyone's day is going well. I've heard that some of my posts are exhausting, I am thinking this one qualifies for sure. (It's currently 3:00)

    Love to all!