April 28, 2009

  • Week 33 – 7 to go!

    Fetal Development Week 33

    Fetal Development This Week

    Week 33 of Pregnancy: Fetal Immune System

    This
    week your baby may be anywhere between 17 to 19 inches in length and
    weigh more than four and a half pounds. Your baby could grow a full
    inch more this week alone — especially if he or she has been on the
    shorter side until now.

    This week your baby may be anywhere between 17 to 19 inches in length and weigh more than four and a half pounds. At this
    stage in fetal development, your baby  could grow a full inch more this
    week alone — especially if he or she has been on the shorter side. 
    Weight gain can range from a third more growth to a full doubling
    before the big debut.
     
    The level of amniotic fluid in your uterus has reached its maximum at 33 weeks pregnant,
    making it likely that you have more baby than fluid now. That’s one
    reason why you’re probably feeling lots of nudges and pushes — there’s
    less liquid to cushion the blows. (Of course that means you’re even
    closer to your baby now!)
     
    If your uterine walls had eyes,
    here’s what you’d see: your fetus acting more and more like a baby,
    with his or her eyes closing during sleep and opening while awake. And
    because those uterine walls are becoming thinner, more light penetrates
    the womb, helping your baby differentiate between day and night (now if
    only baby can remember that difference on the outside!).

    And
    good news! Your baby has reached an important milestone about now: The
    development of his or her own immune system that (along with antibodies
    from you) will be able to provide protection from mild infections.

    Just a quick update for everyone. Before too long I will be getting ready for dinner with my honey for our anniversary.

    I will say that I am feeling more uncomfortable these days. Harder to sleep. More discomfort in my belly, sore and tight and all those fun things. But nothing unbearable or miserable (yet). My hands swell more and more, but it isn’t like fluid as much as nerve stuff, kinda like my leg. My hands go numb, hurt to make a fist (or anything closely resembling a fist) or grip a cup. This isn’t anything new, just more prevalent.

    I have been trying to sit on the yoga ball in the evenings some. It gives me some relief from my sciatic, which is a constant issue at this point. There’s some degree of numb all the time and the pain sets in quicker than it was. But, again, nothing I can’t deal with, just another sign that little Miss Lillie is getting bigger and stronger.

    It’s alot of fun to watch my belly move around. But she’s getting sneaky. It’s like she knows when I am trying to get someone’s attention to watch or feel because she will stop immediately. Even with Tancy… and previously she would always move for Tancy.

    Our check up went well yesterday, gained 3 pounds (2 left before I hit my pre-pregnancy weight… sounds backwards to most, but its the way it is for me). I had lost a pound last week, so I don’t feel too bad… not much I can do about it one way or another, I am not eating bad foods or alot, so I am not stressin’. My blood pressure was great 110/68. It’s been good the entire pregnancy, so glad for that. I have felt calmer throughout my pregnancy than I did before… again, probably backwards for most, but that’s just how it is for me. I measured big again, but based on paying attention to how the doctors are running the tape, I have decided it has more to do with their technique than anything. I know this particular doctor measured below my pelvic bone, where the doctor last time measured right at it. So, when we go back, in 2 weeks we will have another ultrasound (wont complain about getting to see her again) to track her growth from the last one. I am guessing that they will make an educated guess as to how big she will be full term. I am a little excited about this. (You figure I lost 10 pounds and have gained 8 of that back… how does that work out in terms of baby?) Otherwise all is well.

    I took a three hour nap today. I needed it desperately. I have a bit of a nap headache, but still feel better than I did. My lower belly, just above my pelvic bone, has been so sore lately. Just to stand up after sitting or laying down takes me a second to adjust to. Again, nothing unbareable, just uncomfortable and different. Heartburn and even nausea has kicked in again… the heart burn is quite ridiculous!

    I think another reason I am so tired lately is my allergies. I haven’t taken anything in 7+ months and the pollen is everywhere. I stay stuffy and sneezy. Also, I know that feeling like I can’t breathe adds to being tired alot. All signs that we are getting close to the finish line. I am so excited!!

    Well kids, I think that catches ya’ll up. I hope ya’ll have a great day. I’m off here to go get ready.

    Love to all!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *